Posted in Living in...

Living in…Tahoe

The Lake Tahoe region of California/Nevada affords some of the best mountainous terrain the United States has to offer. From mountain biking to rock climbing and everything in between, Tahoe has some of the best land to fulfill your fancies.

My roommate and the the two snowmobiles in the garage.

I first came to Tahoe with a few friends who were visiting me in Yosemite. It was love at first sight! From the instant I saw the lake I knew I had to settle down here for a little while. After that things began to slowly fall into place. I am starting work at Northstar Resort in November and it is going to be my most epic winter to date. No doubt about that.

The snowboard rackSummer was epic! I ended up spending the later half of summer right here in Incline Village. Parties at the beach and girls in bikini’s all day never gets old. I could deal with that face of Tahoe all year with no complaints. But as most of you probably know, Tahoe does not stay sunny and warm forever.

Kayaker by Chimney Beach

A solid portion of the year in Tahoe is spent surrounded by snow! We already got a very small first taste earlier in October. This will be my first winter in Tahoe and trust me, you will be hearing me bitch about the cold a lot! Although I am looking forward to breaking out the shred stick for the first time in two years and taking her into some powder.

Snowboarding in October

It is fall now, and winter is approaching fast. The missing passenger window in my Jeep is a constant reminder of that. Tomorrow the ski resorts will open up for the first time. It is a fun time of year. Ski/snowboard movies are the only things playing on all the televisions and it is all anyone can think or talk about. A new season approaches us, and with it a new experience!

My house in the Fall

All in all, I feel like the luckiest person in the world. Having the opportunity to live here is a gift, and I am learning it is a gift you have to work to earn. I am looking forward to the next year or so (you never know with a climbing bum) living in Tahoe, and I hope you will be reading along with me!

-Kyle Simmons

Author:

Hey there, My name is Nalah! My dad, Kyle Simmons, tells me I am 4 years old. We love to go outside and run! I love finding all the friendly people and places where I am allowed to be. I will do my best to give you the best beaches, trails, and squirrels to chase ALL OVER THE COUNTRY!! Hope you tag along for the best dog spots, workouts and advice on how to stay in great dog shape. Love, Nalah

Leave a Reply

