Posted in Living in..., rock climbing

Living in: Limbo

Hello again,

The last month and a half has been one of the most eventful of my life. During the course of this time I had many mishaps and broken bones which was in turn, the end of my climbing season. My last few climbing days however, were awesome conclusions to what I consider my best (certainly most exhilarating) climbing season so far. I put together this video recently as the days started to get chilly and ice began to form on the rocks. This was all video from the last two days of climbing i got in.

Since I broke my arm I have been staying as active as possible. I was snowboarding a lot till work told me no more. So i decided that I am going to spend the rest of my time in Tahoe living it up! I have been hiking and hanging out with friends 24/7. Most recently  me and a couple of friends from Yosemite climbed the tallest peak in Tahoe, Mt. Rose. Coming in at 10,776 feet at the top, we were happy with it for the middle of December!

Summit Beer on Mt. Rose
Iced over waterfall at the base of Mt. Rose

It sure was cold at the top! We guessed with wind chill, temperature was close to zero degrees. When the time came to head down we got out from behind the rocks that were protecting us and instantly your hands and face felt frozen! We ran so fast with cold lungs and teary eyes to get away from that terrible wind. In about five or six minutes we were behind the mountain again with no worries. On the decent we got the sweetest fruits of our labor with an absolutely amazing sunset!

Sunset bellow Mt. Rose
Lake Tahoe at dusk

Most of the 10-11 mile hike was on packed snow/ice or loose rock. My friend Spittle and I managed to wreck ourselves pretty good on the ice. Brent managed to stay bruise free. We saw a lot more people than we expected on the trail. One of which was a very elderly man moving quite slowly up the hill. We saw him about 20 minutes down from the summit. He asked us if there was room for him at the top! It was very late and very cold and very windy up there. I sure hope he is okay. If not, at least the man got to see the best sunset of his life.

I love it when friends come to visit me because it forces me outside to actually go do something fun. And everyone knows my friends Spittle and Brent are no strangers to a good time. The hike was incredible and it re-inspired me to pick up my camera and get outside! I think we all need that little boost sometimes.

The view at 10,776 feet

Soon I will be moving back home to Redlands, CA. Many photo opportunities and adventures lie ahead so stay tuned! Until then I will keep bringing more good Tahoe times! May you live your day to the fullest!

-Kyle

Author:

Hey there, My name is Nalah! My dad, Kyle Simmons, tells me I am 4 years old. We love to go outside and run! I love finding all the friendly people and places where I am allowed to be. I will do my best to give you the best beaches, trails, and squirrels to chase ALL OVER THE COUNTRY!! Hope you tag along for the best dog spots, workouts and advice on how to stay in great dog shape. Love, Nalah

Leave a Reply

