Posted in Living in...

Redlands: A photo essay, Part 1

Redlands, California is a little city nestled in a little valley, an hour away from everything. The beach, the mountains, and the desert are all possible options when considering a day trip. It is home to many successful companies which include beer breweries, bike shops, rock climbing companies, historic sites, museums, and more. One of the local favorites, Hangar 24, combines our prized oranges with their craft brews. 

Hangar 24 provides people the opportunity to go appreciate a local business and have an amazing time. The outdoor seating and abundant good weather gathers a large crowd even on most weeknights. From the deck you can view the Redlands airport. Comprised of mostly private planes and jets, it stays relatively active most of the day.

The north eastern portion of Redlands holds a lot of the towns historic orange groves. The wide open space and arid climate provide prime opportunity for citrus trees, and there is one on almost every street. During the early-mid part of the 1900’s the Inland Empire was host to thousands of orange groves and a number of them still reside. However, with the fairly recent uprising of shopping malls and the increasing development, some of the orange grove culture has disappeared. Remnants of the glory days lay all around town as a reminder of our towns rich history.

Among one of the founding features of the town was the University of Redlands. Founded in 1907, the college provides many liberal arts degrees which range from music to global business. Growing up in this town, I always knew the college existed of course, but it was not until I left for college that I found out how diverse the student body is. From Arizona to Colorado, Utah and all over California I have found people who go to or know someone who goes to the University.

Growing up in Redlands it feels like I did not appreciate the town till I came back from Arizona. Since then I have been finding out more and more about the place i grew up and the people who live here. It is good to be home and I look forward to many great bike rides, rock climbs, horse rides, and anything that comes my way! Check in soon.

-Kyle

Author:

Hey there, My name is Nalah! My dad, Kyle Simmons, tells me I am 4 years old. We love to go outside and run! I love finding all the friendly people and places where I am allowed to be. I will do my best to give you the best beaches, trails, and squirrels to chase ALL OVER THE COUNTRY!! Hope you tag along for the best dog spots, workouts and advice on how to stay in great dog shape. Love, Nalah

20 thoughts on “Redlands: A photo essay, Part 1

  1. I lived in Pomona from 1984-91. My landlord told me that 30 years before that, it was all orange groves. I couldn’t find any “wide open spaces” to speak of, sadly. I’m sure there are even fewer now.

Leave a Reply

