Posted in Reflections, rock climbing

My Favorite Place

Joshua Tree is a subject that is the focus of many of my posts. It is a place that every time I go, I feel calm and in-tune with my surroundings. When climbing, the fierce grip of the rocks clings to my fingers and feet. It is my favorite place.

When I went this last weekend, I had the privilegeย of going with my roommates and my friend Greta visiting from Arizona. We got there early saturday and did some boulder hopping. We ended hiking up one of the main domes in Hidden Valley just in time for sunset! At the top were holes dug into the rock from water and Greta made herself at home in a perfect sized spot and I found myself in mine right next to her.

It is ALWAYS windy in Joshua Tree. Crash pads are constantly disappearing from underneath your feet, tents blowing over, and no chance of keeping your hair from going insane! We started to get a bit cold and decided it was time to make our way back to the car and find a spot to camp. We had a few things to consider including park ranger detection, an available spot for a fire and shelter from the wind. I knew a spot I have always wanted to camp at, so we went for it!

Where we spent the night, all cleaned up for the daytime

Every chance I get to go to Joshua Tree is a pleasure. The climbing is supreme, the people are friendly, and the view is world class. People congregate from all over the world to pay homage to the vast expanses and incredible rock formations. Rich in nature and history, Joshua Tree is a place that needs to be appreciated and protected as long as it is on this earth.

Greta at Sunset
Me eating an apple

Joshua Tree brings out the supreme beauty and childish nature of all who visit. A place where you can be who you want to be, and do what you want to do as long as it is in the common interest of the park. Complex, artistic, shapes provide a seemingly endless natural playground and access to great rock is unmatched. Wherever you are, make sure to visit it soon!

-Kyle Simmons

Author:

Hey there, My name is Nalah! My dad, Kyle Simmons, tells me I am 4 years old. We love to go outside and run! I love finding all the friendly people and places where I am allowed to be. I will do my best to give you the best beaches, trails, and squirrels to chase ALL OVER THE COUNTRY!! Hope you tag along for the best dog spots, workouts and advice on how to stay in great dog shape. Love, Nalah

8 thoughts on “My Favorite Place

  1. Hey, I just came by to check out your site and say thanks for liking my post, and here’s this great post about Joshua Tree. I spent a week there pretty much exactly 4 years ago now, and I really hope to visit again soon. It’s a bit of a ways from Europe but totally worth the trip! What an amazing place with some fabulous routes and bouldering. Thanks for the reminders! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Awesome post with some great pictures! I’ve only been to Joshua Tree once and sadly I had yet to enter the world of climbing. One of my dreams is to get back there some day all chalked up and climbing shoes on.

Leave a Reply

