Posted in Living in...

The Place to Be

I just recently got back from an incredible trip to Flagstaff, Arizona. While I was there I had the opportunity to do many things and go to many places. One of the places I went was Lake Marry. At this time in the year the lake is a quiet and serene place to be. The shores are coated with a layer of untouched snow and the water is black with threats of a deep chill.

A short walk around town proved to be quite photogenic when I came across an old graffiti art wall that I had forgotten even existed. Every time I see the wall a new work of art shows itself on the left side. However, the right side of the wall stands the test of time, and rightfully so. With the old man staring on the wall staring at anyone who chooses to notice, he is slowly aging with the wind and the rain. The colorful song birds around him add a sense of beauty to the bleak portrait.

After a short climbing session and some movies at my friends house, it was time for my trip to come to an end. On my way to the train station, I looked around the town. The snow was gently falling as it had been all week and the town was quiet. The beauty of Flagstaff shows itself wherever you look, and I will be back soon.

At the train station, I stood outside with my friend Greta. Little did she know, having her there made the wait for the train that much easier. I did not want to leave, I never do. But as my train pulled up I had no choice but to loosen my grip from around her waist and wait to board. Goodbye Flagstaff, for now, because I surely will return soon. And hopefully I will manage to stay and appreciate all is has to offer this time.

Until then, I will patiently wait here in sunny southern California. The chill of the Flagstaff air becomes an inviting symbol of winter that I have come to miss. And the friends in Arizona are unmatched. To be back in Flag would be a privilege and soon it will be a reality.

For now,

Kyle Simmons

 

Author:

Hey there, My name is Nalah! My dad, Kyle Simmons, tells me I am 4 years old. We love to go outside and run! I love finding all the friendly people and places where I am allowed to be. I will do my best to give you the best beaches, trails, and squirrels to chase ALL OVER THE COUNTRY!! Hope you tag along for the best dog spots, workouts and advice on how to stay in great dog shape. Love, Nalah

3 thoughts on “The Place to Be

Leave a Reply

