Posted in Living in...

Yard Work

Hello All,

When I am in town I have some friends who’s parents pay me to do occasional yard work. All throughout high school and years past they have accommodated our group of friends at their house parties, and have let us cause shenanigans all summer in or around the pool. Hell, they even rented a house to us once! (Which anyone that knows anything about that house can tell you, it was a huge success.) These kind folks have a pretty amazing house of their own, and recently I have done some work for them. It was such a nice day I decided to take a few images of the progress.

The backyard is a very open and grassy area which is host to games like kung fu soccer and the “ball throwing game”. On one side of the grass sits the pool and covered outdoor patio. On the other side is the garden which is home to a variety of produce including grapes, tomatoes, peppers, fruit trees, herbs, and even chickens that lay eggs on a regular basis. Next to the garden is a nice elevated deck that they built last year that overlooks the house and gives you a great view of our local mountains.

The chickens proved to be somewhat of an issue early on because they kept getting snatched up by hawks! But they have seemed to figure out how to keep them safe quite well now. Every time you walk over to the chicken area they start making all kinds of noises in hopes of some new food. Projects are always happening in the backyard. Two new ones in the works are the addition of a poolside deck and fire pit and the introduction of two baby chicks to the chicken coop.

ย 

One day i can only hope to have a place of my own to work on and improve. Until then, I always enjoy helping people with their interesting home improvements. Thanks for stopping by!

-Kyle Simmons

Author:

Hey there, My name is Nalah! My dad, Kyle Simmons, tells me I am 4 years old. We love to go outside and run! I love finding all the friendly people and places where I am allowed to be. I will do my best to give you the best beaches, trails, and squirrels to chase ALL OVER THE COUNTRY!! Hope you tag along for the best dog spots, workouts and advice on how to stay in great dog shape. Love, Nalah

8 thoughts on “Yard Work

  1. I am enjoying your blog. Your sound like a similar character to my son. He too loves working and playing outdoors and is also hoping one day to be able to work on a house of his own. Keep working on your dream.

Leave a Reply

