Posted in Living in...

Hiking Out of the Dust and the Fog

Hello,

Today three friends and I went for a hike in the San Grogonio Wilderness. The San Bernardino Peak stands at 10,649 feet and it is a 16 mile round trip with 5,100 foot elevation gain. It is a very doable day hike if you are equipped with crampons and maybe even one ice axe or pole. We made it to the halfway point which was about what we expected considering we only had a half day. Round trip it was eight or nine miles of oak and pine forest which comes as a very high recommendation.

The hike consisted of mostly packed snow and a little bit of ice. Lower down and mid-way you also still have much access to the dirt trail. The hike has many beautiful views and rest points as well as many photogenic opportunities. The parking lot was surprisingly full, however, we did not come across more than three or four groups along the way. The trail is steep at times but time goes by fast once you focus and really start hiking.

The above image is of the San Barnardino Peak. This picture was taken somewhere around halfway on our hike and around a quarter way to the top. It does not  look too bad from this point, but the trail becomes knee to waist high covered in hard, slippery snow just after the halfway mark. Current trail conditions considered, it is incredible that there is such amazing access to these elevations in february! Hopefully tonight and in the coming week there will be snowstorms as indicated by the hazy look to the valley bellow.

We got to our eventual turn around point. My guess is that we were around eight or nine thousand feet. Next time hopefully I will get to go to the top, maybe even do a timed run or speed hike to the top and back. We will see…until then i will be doing more yard work and trying to move to Arizona. I hope whatever you are doing makes you happy and gives you inspiration!

-Kyle Simmons

 

Author:

Hey there, My name is Nalah! My dad, Kyle Simmons, tells me I am 4 years old. We love to go outside and run! I love finding all the friendly people and places where I am allowed to be. I will do my best to give you the best beaches, trails, and squirrels to chase ALL OVER THE COUNTRY!! Hope you tag along for the best dog spots, workouts and advice on how to stay in great dog shape. Love, Nalah

17 thoughts on “Hiking Out of the Dust and the Fog

  1. I used to live in southern California and have hiked San Gorgonio Peak, Mt. Baldy, and San Jacinto. Your pictures bring back good memories of those mountains! I haven’t gotten around to San Bernardino peak, but I plan on hiking it this summer when I move back there.

Leave a Reply

