Posted in Living in...

California Dreaming

Hello All,

It has been nearly a week since I last logged in, but I have been in San Diego to visit some friends on spring break. Luckily while I was there I snagged a few – in my opinion – decent images for you to check out! San Diego for me is always associated with great times on  sunny beaches and the hustle and bustle of downtown and Gas Lamp District areas. This time was no exception, and for the first time in six or seven years I got to visit the historical museum area of Balboa Park. This was quite an experience for me, as last time I was in this area I was in eight grade and therefore, too “cool” to care about anything cultural or educational, however this time was much more interesting!

A bird's eye view of the Gas Lamp District, San Diego, California

While we were in Balboa Park we visited a couple of the major attractions. The first place we went was the Museum of Photographic Arts. Unfortunately, pictures were not allowed to be taken in the display rooms, but I did manage to capture a nice image of their beautiful lecture hall. After that we took a stroll through some of the botanical gardens and walking trails. Abounding with lush grasses, forests, mosses, and flowers the botanical gardens provide a pleasant getaway from the impetuosity of the big city.

And of course we had a chance to go to the beach! We went a couple times, but one day we were lucky enough to have a very interesting person sit next to us. He was a sandcastle master! Apparently this man’s creations have been subjects of commercials and entertainment pieces all around the country. He was just practicing that day, but what he created is still way beyond my sand sculpting capabilities. That day, as well with every other one, I was with my friends from Northern Arizona University. We took a group picture on Coronado Island with my friends (left to right) Chris, Kelly, and Greta. And I got what I think is a pretty good one of just Greta!

I am back home now, and the adventures will continue in the coming weeks as I am trying to move up to Flagstaff, Arizona ASAP. So I hope you will be stopping by soon! Thank you again for your time and attention.

 

-Kyle Simmons

 

Author:

Hey there, My name is Nalah! My dad, Kyle Simmons, tells me I am 4 years old. We love to go outside and run! I love finding all the friendly people and places where I am allowed to be. I will do my best to give you the best beaches, trails, and squirrels to chase ALL OVER THE COUNTRY!! Hope you tag along for the best dog spots, workouts and advice on how to stay in great dog shape. Love, Nalah

One thought on “California Dreaming

  1. Love San Diego…our dad used to take us on the train quite often – glad you had a nice time on spring break 🙂

Leave a Reply

