Posted in Living in..., rock climbing

The Riverside Rock Quarry

Today I had the privilege of climbing at the Riverside rock quarry with some friends. The quarry has long been abandoned, but it left behind a treasure trove of vertical space for southern california rock climbers to develop. The long exposed cliff band is home to over 400 routes and was pretty busy for a thursday afternoon. Most of the rock is surprisingly good quality, leaving only a few spots exposed to looser chipped areas. We ended up doing a few different routes throughout the course of the day, and all of them were fun and challenging. Overall it was quite a success and I will be making my way back ASAP!

 

 

We were so worried about our climbing safety, we completely forgot about our animal safety. On rappel from the top of a route my foot landed in a clump of brush and exposed a large diamond back rattlesnake! We were so shocked and intrigued by the creature that, of course, we had to poke it. The snake was one of the most apathetic I had ever seen, but eventually he got tired of us and slithered into his hole. I even bumped into a pretty big lizard who decided to show off a little bit for my lens.

The Cliff Band looking left
The Cliff Band looking right

The day was amazing, the climbing was superb, and the weather is still nice in So Cal, so get down to your local climbing crag soon!

Till Then,

Kyle Simmons

 

 

Author:

Hey there, My name is Nalah! My dad, Kyle Simmons, tells me I am 4 years old. We love to go outside and run! I love finding all the friendly people and places where I am allowed to be. I will do my best to give you the best beaches, trails, and squirrels to chase ALL OVER THE COUNTRY!! Hope you tag along for the best dog spots, workouts and advice on how to stay in great dog shape. Love, Nalah

26 thoughts on “The Riverside Rock Quarry

  1. I am so glad you made a stop at my blog, I might have missed this post otherwise. I loved it. Awesome pics and looks like a blast! Not a sport I can engage in but love being able to experience it through your post. I can’t wait to see more.

  2. Your photo shots are dynamic, so much so that I’m begging to ask the question as to where the photographer was stationed to get them? Thanks for sharing your adventure and inviting us along to enjoy it. Word to the wise…watch where your stepping and what in the crap your poking πŸ˜‰ lol

    1. Haha, that you so much! For some of these I had to do a bit of climbing myself, but you got to do what you got to do lol. And trust me I will definitely be more careful after that close encounter. Thanks for stopping in πŸ™‚

      -Kyle

  3. Fantastic images from what must have been an equally fantastic adventure. The black & whites are especially superb, I think because the rocks provide such rich tonal texture.

    1. Haha, yeah climbing gyms are awesome, but the outdoors is where its at! Next time I’m up in nor cal I will let you know lol. Till then, it can’t be too hard to find someone to take you πŸ™‚

      1. There are lots of people that climb up here, but the rocks are always wet from rain. I’m moving to so cal in four weeks! Harder to find people that climb down there… haha.

      2. Oh boy, so cal is where I grew up and I will admit it is pretty hard to find people willing to go outdoors with you haha. But there are little niches of pretty cool people everywhere, just have to find them!

  4. I wish I were 40 years younger…maybe 45. I would like to have tried rock climbing, but those days have come and gone! I will climb vicariously through your exploits! πŸ™‚

    Btw, I like the B&W too. The color photos are nice, but the b&w really draw attention the the climber. Good job!

    1. Thank you so much! I always say you are never too old too climb, but I understand it does get harder haha. I am really glad you enjoyed the black and whites. I knew I had to take a few the moment I saw that place and it makes me happy to know others enjoy it πŸ™‚

      Thanks again,
      Kyle

  5. I’m glad it’s not me climbing up there πŸ˜‰
    But I would LOVE to come back to Flagstaff and the SW’ern part of USA (was there for 3 weeks in 1996!).
    And: Thanks for your visit to my blog!

  6. sorry to tell you but the name of the of this mountain is not rock quarry !! It is called rattlesnake mountain . I lived here for 44yrs and played in this mountains and caves. Lots of fun as a boy . The rock quarry is on the other side of valley way (west side of it )

Leave a Reply

