Posted in Reflections, rock climbing

Last Turn on the Left

This last weekend was a trip of a lifetime. My friends and I spent the weekend in beautiful Moab, Utah. Moab is a place of much wonder and mystery. Scattered deserts with jutting bluffs and stark sandstone cliffs shooting out from the red earth provide a landscape that steals the breath and cultivates the imagination. It is places like this that make you reevaluate your place and purpose on this planet.

Reevaluation and accumulation of new thoughts, values and memories coupled with challenging rock climbs and time spent sleeping on the cryptobiotic soil underneath the vastly lit night sky. This is what Utah was all about for our small misfit group of dirtbag climbers. After all, isn’t dirtbagging what climbing is all about. Sharing jars of peanut butter for breakfast, boiling water over the open flame and scrounging for wood in the middle of the night gives you a connection to the places you stay. That is why we do it, that is why we rock climb. Not simply because of the stark challenge of the rock itself, but also for the experience as a whole. The knowledge that the outdoors can impart on you is indispensable.

I hope you get the chance to venture outside soon!

Till then,

Kyle Simmons

Author:

Hey there, My name is Nalah! My dad, Kyle Simmons, tells me I am 4 years old. We love to go outside and run! I love finding all the friendly people and places where I am allowed to be. I will do my best to give you the best beaches, trails, and squirrels to chase ALL OVER THE COUNTRY!! Hope you tag along for the best dog spots, workouts and advice on how to stay in great dog shape. Love, Nalah

12 thoughts on “Last Turn on the Left

  1. I’ve only driven through Moab, but even that made me realize how beautiful it is. Your photos are wonderful. And, it looks like you had a great time too.

Leave a Reply

