Posted in Living in..., rock climbing

Streaker Spire

Today my friend and I climbed Streaker Spire (5.7-8) in Sedona, Arizona. It was a three pitch desert tower on some of the worst and best sandstone ever. Sedona is just like that, one second you are on the coolest rock you have ever touched and the next second you are trying not to knock choss onto your belayers head. Streaker Spire provided some of the most awkward off-width climbing I have ever done and definitely had it’s trying moments. But as the local guide book says, “Recommended Climbs: None, Never trust holds, never trust bolts or pitons, never trust cam placements, and just don’t fall period.”

Streaker Spire on the Right

Every trip to Sedona proves to be an epic in its own respect. This time it was the hike back to the car that took an interesting turn. In attempting to navigate the red slabs littered with cactus, thorns, spiders, and loose rock we ended up in some sort of a slot canyon. Fortunately it only took a couple ten-or-so-feet chimney moves to get out and we were back on the trail in no time. All in all today was a great success and I am happy to claim it as my second trad lead!

Thanks for reading!

-Kyle Simmons

 

Author:

Hey there, My name is Nalah! My dad, Kyle Simmons, tells me I am 4 years old. We love to go outside and run! I love finding all the friendly people and places where I am allowed to be. I will do my best to give you the best beaches, trails, and squirrels to chase ALL OVER THE COUNTRY!! Hope you tag along for the best dog spots, workouts and advice on how to stay in great dog shape. Love, Nalah

13 thoughts on “Streaker Spire

  1. What day in country like that is a bad day? My worst day outdoors was better than any day at work or shut in at the house. Great photos.

Leave a Reply

