Posted in Uncategorized

Preparing for the PCT

Hello All,

The last month I have been preparing to move from Flagstaff, AZ to Tahoe, CA. A few things have to happen over the course of the next few weeks, and I am excited for the road ahead.

Most of what I have been doing is selling all my stuff! I have to narrow my possessions down to a hiking backpack and a small package which I will mail ahead to myself in Tahoe. My dog and IΒ will be on the Pacific Crest Trail for nine or ten days over the length of about a hundred miles.

image

image

image

These are some images of gear I bought and a couple of recent long runs we have gone on. Our training has consisted of faster paced sorter mileage runs up until recently, but over the last couple weeks we have gone on a few longer thirteen to seventeen mile practice treks with close to full pack weight in a backpack. They take a littler longer, but they are so fun and beautiful!

image

image

image

Some of the places we have had the privilege of running in are amazing! However, I am very excited for the scenery that we will experience out on the trail in the Sierra Nevada Mountains.

Some of the dangers we could face are bears and other animals, but since there are two of us instead of just me, I think we can remain safe. I also bought a water pump/filter, but I still worry a tad about water quality. High Sierra storms scare me the most. The last thing I want is to be suck in a lightning storm at ten thousand feet haha! But I figure if I see something moving in we will set up the tent at the lowest elevation possible and wait it out in there.

image

image

image

All in all I believe we are ready for the journey. Hopefully over time the journey will turn into an adventure. πŸ™‚

I will try my best to live blog everything, although I am not completely sure how phone service will be on the trail.

I will also post pics of the planning, preparing, and initiating phases of the trip as it occurs πŸ™‚

Stay tuned,
Kyle Simmons

Author:

Hey there, My name is Nalah! My dad, Kyle Simmons, tells me I am 4 years old. We love to go outside and run! I love finding all the friendly people and places where I am allowed to be. I will do my best to give you the best beaches, trails, and squirrels to chase ALL OVER THE COUNTRY!! Hope you tag along for the best dog spots, workouts and advice on how to stay in great dog shape. Love, Nalah

3 thoughts on “Preparing for the PCT

  1. When are you planning to do the PCT? We were in Tuolumne this past weekend and lots of thru hikers were at the campground and eating fat burgers at the dining area!

    We live in Mojave, about 15 minuts from the PCT as it crosses interstate 58. Its hot now and everyone has passed through already. Let us know when you’ll be coming through the area…

Leave a Reply

