Posted in Uncategorized

Phase Three: Getting to Tahoe

This week I embark on a journey that I have been planning for quite sometime now. I leave on monday for the Sierra Nevada Mountains to fish with my family for a few days. Then Thursday my parents drop me off on the Sonora Pass and my dog and I will begin the hundred or so mile long trek to Tahoe, CA!

Preparation has included much gear purchasing and permit buying. It has also included many long tough workouts on both of our parts. In order to make it to Tahoe when I want to we need to cover thirteen to twenty miles per day. This speed will put us at the end of the trail no earlier than five days and no more than eight.

image

image

image

After this last weekend i feel very prepared. All my gear, including first aid accessories and maps, have come into place and that makes me feel more at ease about the times ahead.

I leave in three hours for the Sierra Nevadas and am all packed and ready to go. I think I need more food, but I dont think anymore will fit in my pack haha! We shall see. . .

image

image

image

Wish us luck in the coming weeks! They will be most likely weather free, cloudless summer Sierra days and im sure everything will go according to plan. I will also try my best to live blog of some sort as much as possible šŸ™‚

Thanks again for reading!

Kyle Simmons

Author:

Hey there, My name is Nalah! My dad, Kyle Simmons, tells me I am 4 years old. We love to go outside and run! I love finding all the friendly people and places where I am allowed to be. I will do my best to give you the best beaches, trails, and squirrels to chase ALL OVER THE COUNTRY!! Hope you tag along for the best dog spots, workouts and advice on how to stay in great dog shape. Love, Nalah

10 thoughts on “Phase Three: Getting to Tahoe

  1. Wow, what an adventure! Hope that’s an extra pair of shoes I saw there in your gear…lol. I know you asked us to wish you luck, and that I’ll do, but I think I’ll throw in a prayer as well if that’s ok with you. Will be following your journey. Travel well and Godspeed.

    1. Awesome! What a place it was. The top of the pass was the highest elevation I hit during the trip and I am glad it was on day one haha. Check back on my blog to see how the trip went šŸ™‚

  2. Kyle you are something else – I will keep you in my thoughts & prayers as you make your journey – too much stability for you in Flagstaff? Can’t wait to see the beautiful photos you will take on your journey…stay safe! Love, Auntie Sandy

    1. Thank you haha šŸ™‚ I needed a bit of a change because of certain girlfriend circumstances and I figured Tahoe was a good choice. What better way to get there than hike the PCT lol. Thanks again for always following.

Leave a Reply

