Posted in Uncategorized

Day Two – Golden Lake to Kinney Reservoir

Hello,

Today I will be telling you how my second day out of five on the PCT went. It was a longer day than the first, and we cover a longer, hillier distance than day one. It was also the first time I had to do many outdoor routines and needless to say some of it was a bit rough. Hope you enjoy 🙂

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Day Two

Last night was filled with worry and anxiousness as my ears perked at any sign of movement in the forest. It was also however, filled with the amazing glory of the night sky. The Milky Way danced across the vast expanse of space above me. Every once in a while I would close my eyes for twenty minutes or so and then open them to track its movement. Eventually sleep crept its way in and not much can save you from it at that point.

I awoke to one bee buzzing, then two, then three. I decided it was time to get up and move on. We need water so we will now hike back to Golden Lake (about one mile), since there will be no clean water for the next five or ten miles. The time is now 9:30am.

Image

Image

It is night two and I have set up camp at Kinney Lake. Today was a bit longer than yesterday, or so it seemed. I think we probably went a similar distance, but having the whole day ahead of us from sunrise to sundown was a bit daunting. 

Kinney Lake is beautiful, and by far the largest lake I have come upon. I was going to stay up above the lake, but I needed water once again, and the hike down to the lake was becoming too treacherous. 

I decided to go north on Highway 4 and backtrack a bit. It was a mile or so downhill (which means a mile or so uphill tomorrow morning) but I think it was worth it. I am in a nice sandy spot right in between the highway and the water. 

Today started slowly. The previous day’s pace and the added morning backtrack to find water made things tough at the early hour. But it picked up around mile four or five. We passed the cow heard once again, and a little ways past saw an elegant and powerful looking fawn. 

I decided to stopped eventually for an hour or so at Wolf Creek. I washed my face and did some laundry while Nalah napped in the shade.

I put my legs in the water to soak, but before I knew it, I realized I had leeches all up and down my legs. I have dealt with many types of bugs, but never leeches! I was horrified and needless to say, very worried about getting back in the water. And very anxious to move on.

From there we moved on up one pass then down another over and over till finally, we hit Ebbets Pass and Highway 4. Nalah kept the pace the last three or four miles and I simply tried to keep up. 

I halved her backpack weight because she seemed very tired. I think she appreciated it. As of now we are both exhausted from the day’s effort and Nalah is curled up next to me sleeping. I could not ask for a better pup.

Hopefully tonight’s sleep comes easier than last nights. I think about Talia on these long cold and windy nights. How I wish to be in her arms feeling her embrace. I think about her all of the time during our wanderings. It gives me hope to know that I will see her soon and that there is a goal to all of this. Cheers to her, my love. May she and I both sleep tight tonight under the same stary sky.

Image

________________________________________________________________________________________________

That was all I had left in me for night two. Come back tomorrow to hear more successes and misadventures. One clue, I loose something very special to me in these times.

See You Soon,

Kyle Simmons

Author:

Hey there, My name is Nalah! My dad, Kyle Simmons, tells me I am 4 years old. We love to go outside and run! I love finding all the friendly people and places where I am allowed to be. I will do my best to give you the best beaches, trails, and squirrels to chase ALL OVER THE COUNTRY!! Hope you tag along for the best dog spots, workouts and advice on how to stay in great dog shape. Love, Nalah

2 thoughts on “Day Two – Golden Lake to Kinney Reservoir

  1. Wow – sounds so beautiful – those leeches sound disgusting – I am so happy you have the love of a good dog and a good woman (net necessarily in that order) !

Leave a Reply

